PUB 45's Magazine of the Year Sweet 16

PUB 45's Magazine of the Year Sweet 16 As we get ready to announce the PUB 45 Medal Finalists on Friday, we thought we'd open the doors a little and share some early results from the judging weekend, the top 16 magazines from the Magazine of the Year judging:

Magazine of the Year is the highest annual award SPD grants. It is given to the art director whose magazine demonstrates the most effective and imaginative use of design, typography, illustration and photography to promote the editorial message. The category is judged entirely by itself during the first day of judging, as the jury pores over three different issues from each entry in order to get a sense of both the highest high points and the steady consistencies the magazine the readers rely upon. Those scores, from the entire jury, created this pool of finalists for the jury to sift through again during the final round of judging on day three.

The sixteen finalists we share here are representative of this year's strong and vibrant entries in the category, showing a wide and varied range of editorial challenges and solutions. Each is now officially a Merit winner for Magazine of the Year; from these sixteen we will announce the Magazine of the Year Medal Finalists on Friday, February 12th (this Friday! check back soon!) along with all the other Print Medal Finalists (so really: check back Friday for the FULL LIST OF PRINT FINALISTS ON THE SITE).

Our heartiest congratulations to each of these magazines and their creative teams, representing the best of the field from 2009, presented here in no special order other than alphabetical because we're like that:

Creative Director: Dirk Barnett
Director of Photography: David Carthas

Bon Appétit
Design Director: Matthew Lenning

Design Director: Kirby Rodriguez
Art Directors: Alex Grossman, Kristina DiMatteo
Director of Photography: Darrick Harris

ESPN The Magazine
Creative Director: Siung Tjia
Director of Photography: Catriona Ni Aolain

Design Director: David Curcurito
Director of Photography: Michael Norseng

Design Director: Fred Woodward
Director of Photography: Dora Somosi

Creative Director: Deb Bishop
Director of Photography: Stacey Baker

New York
Design Director: Chris Dixon
Director of Photography: Jody Quon

The New York Times Magazine
Design Director: Arem Duplessis
Deputy Art Director: Gail Bichler
Director of Photography: Kathy Ryan

Real Simple
Creative Director: Janet Froelich
Design Directors: Ellene Wundrok, Cybele Grandjean
Photo Director: Casey Tierney

T, The New York Times Style Magazine
Creative Director: David Sebbah
Director of Photography: Kathy Ryan

Art Director: Arthur Hochstein
Director of Photography: Kira Pollack

Creative Director: Janine Vangool

Design Director: Edward Leida
Art Director: Nathalie Kirsheh

Creative Director: Scott Dadich
Design Director: Wyatt Mitchell

Wired (Italy)
Art Director: David Moretti
Photo Editor: Francesca Morosini

Thank you to everyone who entered, providing us all at the judging, and here at SPD HQ in the lead-up, a truly encouraging snapshot of the great, great work that was done in 2009. Bravo!

blog comments powered by Disqus