Magazine of the Year: GQ

Magazine of the Year: GQ
SPD is proud to announce this year's Gold Award winner for MAGAZINE OF THE YEAR is GQ. Once again, we have had a truly inspiring collection of contenders for SPD's highest award: Magazine of the Year. This is the third Gold award for Magazine of the Year for GQ under Fred Woodward's creative leadership. On a wet, cold and windy night at Ellis Island in 2003, GQ was first honored as Magazine of the Year at Pub 38--Fred's first year at GQ. GQ has consistently been a MOTY finalist every year since 2003 including their 2nd MOTY win at Pub 42 (for circulation 500,000 to 1M). Previously, Woodward lead Rolling Stone to MOTY finalist twice (Pub 34, Pub 35).

A big congratulations to Fred Woodward and his team, which includes: Art Director Anton Ioukhnovets, Designers Thomas Alberty, Chelsea Cardinal, Delgis Canahuate, Benjamin Bours, Director of Photography Dora Somosi, Photo Editors Justin O'Neill, Krista Prestek, Jolanta Bielat, Jesse Lee, Creative Director, Fashion Jim Moore, and Editor-In-Chief Jim Nelson.

Now in its 46th year, the SPD Competition yields only the highest examples of design, photography and illustration excellence in both print and digital platforms, and the SPD Annual is an invaluable resource for editors, art directors, designers, photographers and typographers worldwide. PUB 46 is guided by Chairpersons Andrea Dunham, Design Director of People and Brandon Kavulla, formerly Design Director at Men's Health and the new Creative Director at WIRED, with Magazine of the Year Chair Luke Hayman, Partner at Pentagram and Digital Co-Chairs Josh Klenert, Creative Director, Clear Channel Digital and Jeremy LaCroix, Creative Director, CBS Interactive. A total of 42 editorial creatives from the print and digital worlds adjudicated 6,000 entries in over 40 Print categories and a record number of Digital entries (triple the previous year) in over 30 categories to include the debut of editorial iPad apps, selecting only the best work to be presented in the Society's PUB 46, our annual compendium of the best editorial design from the past year. Download a complete list of the more than 50 Gold Medal and Silver Medals awarded Friday night at the Gala here (pdf).

Please join SPD in giving huge thanks to SPD Executive Director Emily Smith for her tireless work for the Society and its members. A friend to all, a leader for SPD in all its function, Emily is a champion for excellence in art and design, and we humbly thank her for all her efforts.

002_A copy.jpg
Cover, August 2010.

002_B copy.jpg
Photograph by Terry Richardson.

002_C copy.jpg
Illustration by Daniel Clowes.

002_E copy.jpg
Photograph by Inez van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin.

002_F copy.jpg
June 2010.

002_H copy.jpg
Photograph by Robert Maxwell.

002_I copy.jpg
Photograph by Ben Watts.

Related Stories:

  • JJ

    YES! GQ Magazine has worked so hard this year. A special thanks to Fred Woodword and his excellent direction! I would also like to thank Emily Smith, for she took the time to respond to my email about pursing a career in Publication Design and responded and amazing detail!

blog comments powered by Disqus