46: November 2011 Archives

Pub 46: Student Competition

Pub 46: Student Competition

THE STUDENT COMPETITION & THE ADOBE SCHOLARSHIP IN HONOR OF B.W. HONEYCUTT - Established in 1995, this competition honors the life and work of B.W. Honeycutt. It recognizes exceptional design by students with awards and three cash prizes: the Adobe Scholarship in Honor of B.W. Honeycutt, the first-place prize of $2500; second-place prize of $1000; and a third-place prize of $500. The top winners also received summer internships magazines in New York City. Chaired by Ian Doherty, Art Director at Food Network Magazine and Neil Jamieson, Design Director, Money, this juried competition acknowledges the student designer and the teachers who develop their unique talents.
In recognizing the promise of each student, Adobe affirms the creative possibilities inherent in the individual. Throughout its partnership with SPD, Adobe is helping shape the next generation of creative professionals. Together we are building the groundwork that will sustain and further artistic accomplishments within the editorial design community.

Special thanks to the judges:
Evan Campisi, Nylon
John Dixon, The Village Voice
Robert Festino, Men's Health
Elizabeth Hummer, Harper's Bazaar
Kory Kennedy, Runner's World
Gloria Pantell, TV Guide
James Reyman, Reyman Studio
The Society thanks our partner, Adobe Systems, Inc. for their ongoing support with this project.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

365940silo_shad.jpgNow available on Amazon:

Click here to purchase the hard cover annual: 

Looking for past Annuals? They're availble here.

Want more information on entering this year's competition? 
Click here for our 24-7-365 awards central.
Pub 46: Spots

Pub 46: Spots

Chairs Criswell Lappin (Fahrenheit 212) and Matthew Lenning (MAT: Design Co) led the 24th Annual SPOTS competition, championing the little illustrations that say so much. From hundreds of entries, the judges selected a class of illustrations that do an excellent job of amplifying the editorial message, from a wide spectrum of publications. Winners are featured in a visual index here, and celebrated more extensively in a very limited-edition book published biannually, The SPOTS Book, showcasing both the illustrations and smaller versions of the original editorial pages that featured the work.

Pub 46: Competition Credits

Pub 46: Competition Credits

The SPD Annual Judging weekend is a tremendous event bringing together the most experienced and admired creatives working with editorial content today, challenging them to sift through thousands of entries in just a few days to find the best of the best you see featured in this book. To accomplish so much, in such a short time, requires the outstanding effort of so many--once again, however, SPD is blessed to have beyond outstanding support from a small army, and they make it look easy. Andrea Dunham, Design Director, People, and Brandon Kavulla, Creative Director, WIRED, (Co-Chairs), Jeremy LaCroix, Creative Director, CBS Interactive and Josh Klenert, Creative Director, Clear Channel Digital (Online Chairs), Luke Hayman, Partner, Pentagram (Magazine of the Year Chair), and Nancy Stamatopoulos (Competition Captain) extend an enormous thank-you on behalf of SPD to all the judges and volunteers for their support in making the judging happen this year, emergency fire alarm be damned! in January 2011 at FIT.


« 46: May 2011 | Archives | 46: December 2011 »