For the Love of New York


SPD’s 50th Anniversary Speaker Series continued with For the Love of New York magazine

Founded by Milton Glaser and Clay Felker in 1968, New York established itself as a cradle of New Journalism. Over time, it became more national in scope, publishing writers such as Tom Wolfe, Jimmy Breslin, Nora Ephron, Frank Rich, and John Heilemann.

Since its redesign and relaunch in 2004, the magazine has won more National Magazine Awards than any other publication, which includes the 2013 award for Magazine of the Year. It has been named Magazine of the year in SPD’s PUB competitions three times! 

Watch former and present Art Directors and Photography Directors discuss their best moments, memories, and their role in shaping this peerless, legendary magazine brand.


Milton Glaser

Walter Bernard

Roger Black

Bob Newman

Robert Best

David Matt

Luke Hayman

Jody Quon

Chris Dixon

Tom Alberty

This prestigious panel was moderated by New York's Editor-In-Chief, Adam Moss.

MEMBERS: View it free online HERE (you’ll be prompted to login first)

NON-MEMBERS: Watch the video online below for $5  (with free preview!)